The Roman Catholic Partner of St. Bernard and Our Lady of Grace

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

Stations of the Cross

Walk the way of our Lord.

The Stations of the Cross began as the practice of pious pilgrims in Jerusalem who would retrace the final journey of Jesus Christ to Calvary. Later, for the many who wanted to pass along the same route, but could not make the trip to Jerusalem, a practice developed that eventually took the form of the fourteen stations currently found in almost every church. 

The Stations of the Cross are a 14-step Catholic devotion that commemorates Jesus Christ's last day on Earth as a man. The 14 devotions, or stations, focus on specific events of His last day, beginning with His condemnation. The stations are commonly used as a mini pilgrimage as the individual moves from station to station. At each station, the individual recalls and meditates on a specific event from Christ's last day. Specific prayers are recited, then the individual moves to the next station until all 14 are complete. 

The Stations of the Cross are found along the back wall of the nave in Our Lady of Grace Church as a series of 14 artistic images. Join us at Our Lady of Grace Church to pray the Stations of the Cross each Friday in Lent at 7:30 p.m. The Stations are a beautiful way to draw close to Jesus and enter into the spirit of that holy season. Additionally the Living Stations are presented by the fourth grade students of Our Lady of Grace School on the Friday before Good Friday.




1. Jesus Is Condemned to Death.

Pontius Pilate condemns Jesus to death.


 2. Jesus Takes Up His Cross.

Jesus willingly accepts and patiently bears his cross.


3. Jesus Falls the First Time.

Weakened by torments and by loss of blood, Jesus falls beneath his cross.


4. Jesus Meets His Sorrowful Mother.

Jesus meets his mother, Mary, who is filled with grief.


5. Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry the Cross.

Soldiers force Simon of Cyrene to carry the cross.


6. Veronica Wipes the Face of Jesus.

Veronica steps through the crowd to wipe the face of Jesus.


7. Jesus Falls a Second Time.

Jesus falls beneath the weight of the cross a second time.


8. Jesus Meets the Women of Jerusalem.

Jesus tells the women to weep not for him but for themselves and for their children.


9. Jesus Falls the Third Time.

Weakened almost to the point of death, Jesus falls a third time.


10. Jesus Is Stripped of His Garments.

The soldiers strip Jesus of his garments, treating him as a common criminal.


11. Jesus Is Nailed to the Cross.

Jesus’ hands and feet are nailed to the cross.


12. Jesus Dies on the Cross.

After suffering greatly on the cross, Jesus bows his head and dies.


13. Jesus Is Taken Down From the Cross.

The lifeless body of Jesus is tenderly placed in the arms of Mary, his mother.


14. Jesus Is Laid in the Tomb.

Jesus’ disciples place his body in the tomb.